Life lessons from Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery


I love classics! When I was 11, my bosom buddies were the likes of Enid Blyton, LM Montgomery and Mark Twain. I loved curling up on a chair and spent hours reading the enormous collection of Mallory Towers and Anne of Green Gables and other series. Enraptured by their writing, I lived numerous lives. I imagined and created an enchanted world and reveled in it. 

Two decades later, I revisited Anne of Green Gables only to find myself have radically different thoughts and leanings. What was a complete fantasy back then, made so much practical life sense today. This time I heard the audio books and almost caught myself by surprise at how much I had grown up and how I was looking at the same things through a different lens. I have enjoyed my journey and my learnings through this book. It was only fair to log them in :). Here goes –


‘Why must people kneel down to pray?’ If I really wanted to pray I’ll tell you what I’d do. I’d go out into a great big field all alone or into the deep, deep, woods, and I’d look up into the sky—up—up—up—into that lovely blue sky that looks as if there was no end to its blueness. And then I’d just FEEL a prayer. Well, I’m ready. What am I to say?’ ― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables
“Feel a prayer”-  My father always said, you dont need to be at a temple or church or mosque to pray, you should feel it in your heart. You should be able to pray in the very place you are sitting. You should feel a prayer. I cannot ever imagine how I prayed so differently in the past. And I tried this, I closed my eyes as I was sitting on my desk and FELT my prayer. I have never had more satisfaction.


“Look at that sea, girls–all silver and shadow and vision of things not seen. We couldn’t enjoy its loveliness any more if we had millions of dollars and ropes of diamonds.” 
― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables
Take the time to breathe, to enjoy the bounty of nature. It is so easy to get consumed by the everyday need to complete your “to do list” , that we compromise on the simple things in life. I have new appreciation for the quiet morning coffee, the view of the mountains, the innocent smile of a child, the sound of music et al. 

‘Saying one’s prayers isn’t exactly the same thing as praying,’ said Anne meditatively.― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables
Isnt this self explanatory and so utterly profound?

“I’m not a bit changed–not really. I’m only just pruned down and branched out. The real ME–back here–is just the same.” ― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables
All of us have a little bit of the child in ourselves. Let it more often than you already do. Rake the pile of leaves and jump in them. Enjoy the occasional swing at the park. It does rejuvenate you!

“That’s the worst of growing up, and I’m beginning to realize it. The things you wanted so much when you were a child don’t seem half so wonderful to you when you get them.”
― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables
“Be careful about what you wish for “,they said. I still wished to be grown up. TO do all the things the responsible people did! Now,I wish I could go back to being the school girl I was. Maybe not for the rest of my life, just for a few days at a time. 

“Anne: “But have you ever noticed one encouraging thing about me, Marilla? I never make the same mistake twice”.― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables
There is no shame in making mistakes and none in accepting them as long as you learn from them. Its a part of growing up after all.

“I’ve done my best, and I begin to understand what is meant by ‘the joy of strife’. Next to trying and winning, the best thing is trying and failing.” ― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables
I have never heard this said so beautifully. If only we were able to look at all failures, this way and move on in life?


“All things great are wound up with all things little.” ― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables
Take pride and joy in the little things. Its what makes up the big ones. 


“She had looked her duty courageously in the face and found it a friend – as duty ever is when we meet it frankly.” ― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables
Growing up comes with duties, but if you can learn to embrace your duty with utmost sincerity maybe it gets easier? Most times, doing things with pleasure rather than for the sake of completing a task is very fulfilling.

“You mayn’t get the things themselves; but nothing can prevent you from having the fun of looking forward to them.” ― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables
Half the fun of the lies in getting there and imagining the route to getting there. Never lose that spark. Enjoy every minute of the journey.

I apologized pretty well, didn’t I?’ she said proudly as they went down the lane. ‘I thought since I had to do it I might as well do it thoroughly.’― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables
Again, lessons from growing up. Didn’t all our parents say “ IF you do something, do it right or don’t do it at all”


“Oh, it’s delightful to have ambitions. I’m so glad I have such a lot. And there never seems to be any end to them– that’s the best of it. Just as soon as you attain to one ambition you see another one glittering higher up still. It does make life so interesting.” ― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables
Think big! When you think big bigger paths open up and so will bigger ideas come around.

“Kindred spirits are not so scarce as I used to think. It’s splendid to find out there are so many of them in the world.” ― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables
Life aint a bed of roses, but it aint a path of thorns either. You give some to get some. Bad people make you realize how to recognize the good people. 

Leave a Reply

